SUSAN G. SWARTZBURG PRESERVATION AWARD NOMINATION FORM

Please complete or prepare facsimile with same information to

John Beekman, Chair NJLA History & Preservation Section Awards Committee at jbeekman@jclibrary.org

Or by mail: John Beekman, Jersey City Free Public Library, 472 Jersey Ave., Jersey City, NJ 07302

DEADLINE Monday, March 31, 2025

The Susan G. Swartzburg Award, created in 2003, recognizes a New Jersey Library Association member who, over a substantial number of years, has made exceptional contributions to the awareness, understanding, and/or preservation of archival and library materials in New Jersey. The Award honors the memory of the Rutgers Preservation Librarian whose leadership in New Jersey inspired and influenced many others in our profession, particularly in the areas of preservation and book arts. The awardee is selected by the NJLA History & Preservation Section of NJLA. The award will be presented at the annual NJLA Annual Conference.

Criteria for the Award:

<u>Leadership.</u> Has demonstrated support for funding of conservation projects; promoting education of conservation issues; and increasing the visibility of archival/history materials.

<u>Creativity.</u> Has developed new and interesting methods of interpretation through exhibits, programs, lectures and publications.

<u>Commitment.</u> Has built an impressive body of work at one or more institutions in the areas of conservation, archives and/or historical fields; has a strong record of participation in NJLA; and has exhibited knowledge of and concern for the basic principles of preservation over time.

Name of Individual Nominated _	
Address	
Email	
Phone Number	

Person making the nomination
Address
Email
Phone Number
How does the nominee meet the criteria of the award (attach continuation if necessary)?
What are the outstanding characteristics of the nominee (attach continuation if necessary)?
List relevant positions held by nominee, e.g. library, archives, historical, curatorial, professional, or educational, but not elected political offices, with dates if known (attach continuation if necessary or attach resume with this information):

List supporting documents, such as publications, by or about the nominee (attach continuation if necessary or attach resume with this information):	
-	

Past winners of this award include:

- 2003 Elsalyn Palmisano
- 2004 Ralph Ocker
- 2005 Elizabeth "Betty" Steckman
- 2006 Gary Saretzky
- 2007 Joseph DaRold
- 2008 Susan Gulick
- 2009 Peggy Norris
- 2010 Michele Stricker
- 2011 Miriam Kornblatt
- 2013 Frederic C. Pachman
- 2014 Tim Corlis
- 2015 Deborah Mercer
- 2016 Robert Stewart
- $2017-Sarah\ Hull$
- 2018 Chad Leinaweaver
- $2019-Karl\ Niederer$
- 2020 Debra Schiff
- 2021 Thomas C. Ankner
- 2022 John Ward Beekman
- 2023 Lois Densky-Wolff
- $2024 Laura\ Poll$