Honors and Awards

NJLA Awards

Children's Book Awards

The Garden State Children's Book Awards were established in 1977 to honor books for younger readers. The Children's Services Section (CSS) of the New Jersey Library Association felt that books for the early and middle grades seldom received proper recognition. Yet it is at this age, more than any other, that the potential reader needs to be encouraged, stimulated and captivated by the printed work and good illustration.


For more information: http://njlamembers.org/content/garden-state-childrens-book-awards

Read More
CUS Research Award

To recognize excellence in the research efforts of New Jersey librarians, the Research Committee of the NJLA College and University Section (CUS) and the ACRL New Jersey Chapter seeks nominations and applications for its annual Research Award to honor the best published research completed by a New Jersey librarian during the past year . The Award will be presented at the NJLA Annual Conference in June.


Read More
CUS Technology Innovation Award

The NJLA College and University Section Technology Innovation Award honors a librarian or group of librarians for innovative use and application of technology in a New Jersey academic library, whether from a small or large institution. The award may be given either in recognition of a specific project, or for ongoing delivery of innovative technology applications. The purpose of the award is to recognize distinguished leadership in developing new technologies for academic libraries.

Read More
Intellectual Freedom Award

The award recognizes and honors outstanding contributions to intellectual freedom by individuals or institutions in 2016.  According to the ALA, "[i]ntellectual freedom is the right of library users to read, seek information, and speak freely as guaranteed by the First Amendment. Intellectual freedom is a core value of the library profession, and a basic right in our democratic society. A publicly supported library provides free, equitable, and confidential access to information for all people of its community."  The Intellectual Freedom Subcommittee selects the recipient(s) of the award.

Read More
Journalism Award

NJLA recognizes the power of the press and media. These awards are given in recognition of exceptional journalistic coverage of libraries and library issues during the year 2016.

Read More
Library Champion

This award is given annually in recognition of an exceptional contribution to a New Jersey library, group of libraries, or to a New Jersey Library community. Nominees may be a person, group, organization, business, or corporation, which has made a remarkable contribution during 2016. This award is not intended for library employees, friends groups, or trustees.

Read More
Library Service Awards

Through the LIBRARY SERVICE AWARD and the TRUSTEE RECOGNITION AWARD, the New Jersey Library Association seeks to recognize those who have given of themselves in exceptional service to New Jersey’s libraries during 2016.  Please note: the nominee need not excel in all of the criteria below to be nominated.

Read More
NJ Distinguished Service Award

Do you know a librarian whose contribution to academic librarianship in New Jersey deserves recognition? The College and University Section of NJLA invites you to nominate someone (or even yourself) for the 2014 Distinguished Service Award.  The award, presented at the NJLA Annual Meeting in June, will be given to a librarian who has had distinguished service or achievement in our profession, especially within the New Jersey academic community. This is not limited to persons who have received national recognition. It is intended to honor any person who, by his or her outstanding contributions, has directly enriched the librarianship in higher education in New Jersey.

Read More
NJLA / NJASL Amy Job Partnership Award

This award has been re-named in honor of Amy Job. Amy Job was a librarian and professor at William Paterson University who was active professionally in both the New Jersey Library Association and the New Jersey Association of School Librarians. Amy was passionate about school/public library cooperation and took every opportunity to encourage collaboration. Thanks to a generous donation from the Job family, the recipient of this award will receive $200 to be used by their library.

DESCRIPTION: This award is given annually in recognition of a unique cooperative relationship between a public library and a school library. NJLA bestows the award on a librarian working in a public library who works with a media specialist in a public, private, or parochial school in the community to enhance library service to the people of the community. 

Read More
NJLA Librarian of the Year

Dedicated, knowledgeable, and creative librarians are the key to the success of libraries in New Jersey. The NJLA Librarian of the Year Award was created to recognize exemplary recent achievement by a working New Jersey Librarian making a significant contribution at any level of librarianship.

The Librarian of the Year serves as a role model, enhancing the image of librarianship and advancing the positive visibility of libraries to the community. The Librarian of the Year is willing to serve as an enthusiastic spokesperson for librarianship in general and to speak at the NJLA conferences.

Read More
President's Award

For this award, the current President selects an NJLA member who has provided inspiration and support to the President during his or her year in that office and who has demonstrated continued dedication to NJLA. The award is traditionally kept secret until it is announced at the Awards Ceremony.


Read More
Public Relations and Marketing Awards

This award is open to New Jersey academic, public, school, and special libraries. All New Jersey libraries are encouraged to participate regardless of size, budget, or technological limitations.

Read More
PDF icon PR Rubric.pdf
Rising Star Award: Librarians, Paraprofessionals, and Students

This award recognizes one or more deserving individuals for innovative and creative work in a New Jersey library in 2016.

Read More
Susan Swartzburg Award

This award honors the memory of a librarian whose leadership in New Jersey inspired and influenced many others in our profession, particularly in the areas of preservation of library materials, archives, and the book arts.

Read More
File SwartzburgAwardNominationForm2017.docx
Teen Book Awards

The GSTBA ballot will be compiled from a master list of nominated titles, which aims to expose teens to books that are both appealing and well-written. The GSTBA ballot also serves as a readers advisory tool to librarians and teachers serving teen readers. The GSTBA ballot should be representative of the diversity of socioeconomic backgrounds, ethnicities, and interests found in the state of NJ. The GSTBA ballot should reflect a balance in the diversity of reading interests of teen readers. For more information: http://njlamembers.org/yasection.

Voting for the GSTBA is open! https://njla.org/2017gstba

Read More

2017 NJLA Award Winners

Leslie Burger, Library Development Solutions
Maureen Donohue, Piscataway Public Library
Library Champion Awards
Deptford Mall
Warren County Board of Chosen Freeholders
Assemblywoman Shavonda Sumter
Assemblyman Benjie Wimberly
Dan O'Connor
PR Awards - Information Literature
Atlantic City Free Public Library: Career Connections