A2227  Makes a supplemental appropriation of $ 3 million for increased Per Capita Aid support to public libraries.  A2227 prime sponsors are: Assemblymen Troy Singleton, District 7, Wayne DeAngelo ( District 14), Joe Danielson (District 17), Assemblywoman Annette Quijano (District 20)  Daniel Benson (District 14), and cosponsors Assemblymen Jerry Green (District 22) Gordon Johnson (District 27) John McKeon (District 27) Jack Ciattarelli (District 16), Herb Conaway (District 7), John Burzichelli (District 3), Thomas Giblin (District 34), John Wisniewski (Disrict 19), Assemblywomen Mila Jasey (District 27), Elizabeth Muoio (District 15), Marlene Caride (District 36) This bill has been referred to the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

S430 is identical legislation and is sponsored by Senators Diane Allen (District 7), Senator Anthony Bucco (District 25),  Senator Jennifer Beck (District 11), Senator Shirley Turner (District 15),  Senator Christopher Bateman ( District 16), Senator Jeff VanDrew ( District 1), Senator James Beach, (District 6 ), Senator James Holzapfel (District 10), Senator Sandra Cunningham ( District 31), Senator Joseph Kyrillos (District 13), Senator Fred Madden (District 6), Senator Linda Greenstein (District 14), Senator Samuel Thompson (District 12) , Senator James Whelan (District 2), Senator Nilsa Cruz-Perez (District 5)and Senator Patrick Diegnan (District 18) . NJLA is actively seeking additional sponsors for this legislation.  These are the first bills in many years which seek to restore funding to the library state per capita aid program. This bill has been referred to the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee.

A2227/S430 Increasing Per Capita State Aid for NJ Libraries


Legislative Update Type: