P.L. 2017 c. 260 (A1427/S2633)

A1427 Permits increase in municipal free public library tax upon voter approval. Sponsored by Assemblymen Gordon Johnson (District 37), John Burzichelli (District 3), Joe Danielsen (District 17), John McKeon (District 27) Jack Ciattarelli (District 16), Craig Coughlin (District 19) and Daniel Benson (District 14)  and Assemblywomen Mila Jasey ( District 27)  Elizabeth Muoio (District 15) and Assemblywoman Valerie Vainieri Huttle (District 37)

This bill has been referred to the Assembly State and Local Government Committee. This bill was released from the State and Local Government Committee on June 6, 2016.  This bill was passed by the full Assembly on Sept. 29, 2016 by a vote of 52-14  with 5 abstaining and 9 not voting.

S2633 Is the Identical legislation that has been introduced in the NJ Senate.  This bill is in the Senate Community and Urban Affairs Committee. Senator Loretta Weinberg (District 37) and Senator Nilsa Cruz-Perez (District 5) are prime sponsors.Senator Jeff Van Drew ( District 1), Senator Patrick Diegnan (District 18) and Senator Christopher Bateman (District 16) are co-sponsors.

This bill was voted out of the Senate Community and Urban Affairs Committee on Dec. 4, 2017. Passed the full Senate on Dec. 18, 2017 by a vote of 33-0.  Signed by Governor Christie Jan. 8, 2018.


Legislative Update Type: